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State of Connecticut 
Regulation of 

Department of Agriculture 
Concerning 

Honey and Maple Syrup 

Section 1. The Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies are amended by adding sections 
22-54u-1 to 22-54u-10, inclusive, as follows: 

 

(NEW) Sec. 22-54u-1. Definitions. 

 
(a) As used in this section and sections 22-54u-2 to 22-54u-6, inclusive, of the 
Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies: 

 
(1) “Adulterated product” means food that is adulterated, as described in the federal 

Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act, 21 USC 342, as amended from time to time. 
(2) “CFR” means the Code of Federal Regulations. 
(3) “Commissioner” means the Commissioner of Agriculture and their designated agents. 
(4) “Department” means the Connecticut Department of Agriculture. 

(5) “Misbranded product” means food that is misbranded, as described in the federal 

Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act, 21 USC 343, as amended from time to time. 

(6) “Produce” means to keep bees and harvest honey, or manufacture maple syrup. 

(7) “Producer” means any person, firm, entity, partnership, or corporation in this state 
who keeps bees and harvests honey, or who manufactures maple syrup. 

(8) “Product” means honey produced or harvested, or maple syrup manufactured, in 
this state. 

 

(b) The definitions in 21 CFR 117.3, as amended from time to time, shall be applicable to 

sections 22-54u-2 to 22-54u-6, inclusive, of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies. 
 

(NEW) Sec. 22-54u-2. Registration for License by Producers, Exempt Producers, Fees. 

 

(a) Each honey or maple syrup producer that has annual gross revenues of more than $25,000 
from the sale of a product or products shall register annually for a license with the 
department, on a form provided by the department, and provide, at a minimum, the following 
information: 

 

(1) Name of the producer; 
(2) Business address of the producer; 
(3) Address of each location where a product or products will be harvested, produced or 

manufactured; and 

(4) Description of the product or products. 

 
(b) Each producer that has annual gross revenues of $25,000 or less from the sale of a 
product or products is exempt from the licensure requirements of this section. Any such 
exempt producer may submit a declaration to the department on a form to be provided by the 
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department. Such declaration shall not be binding on the department for any determination of 
whether such producer is required to be licensed under this section. 

 
(c) Any producer applying for an initial license or renewal of a license shall pay a 
non- refundable license fee of $50.00. 

 
(d) Each license issued pursuant to this section shall expire on December 31st in the year of 
issuance, and annually thereafter, if renewed. Any license not renewed within 60 days after the 
expiration date shall be deemed expired and a new application shall be required. A license 
issued pursuant to this section is not transferrable. 

 
(e) Each producer who receives a license pursuant to this section shall notify the department 
of any changes to the information supplied on the application for such license no later than 10 
business days after any such change. 

 
(NEW) Sec. 22-54u-3. Standards for Harvesting, Producing, Processing,  Labeling, 
Packing and Holding a Product or Products. 

 

(a) Each producer required to be licensed by the department shall harvest, produce, process, 
pack and hold all products in accordance with the requirements for produce set forth in 21 
CFR Part 117, as amended from time to time. 

 
(b) If a producer required to be licensed by the department produces, processes, packs or 
holds a product or products in a private residence, it shall be in a room, separate from living 
quarters, with a separate outside entrance. 

 
(c) Each producer shall label any product or products, if in packaged form, in accordance with 
21 CFR Part 101, as amended from time to time, including the following information: 

 
(1) The common or usual name of the product or products; 
(2) A declaration of responsibility, the name of the producer, manufacturer, or packer, as 
applicable, and their business address. The producer, manufacturer, or packer business 
address may be omitted if the business address can be found in a telephone directory or by 
an internet search; 
(3) Net Contents – such as Net weight or volume, in both English and Metric values are 
required. Example: 1 oz. (28 grams) or ½ Gallon (1.89 L); and 
(4) A statement concerning whether the product or products needs refrigeration to maintain 
safety or quality, such as “Keep Refrigerated” or “Keep Refrigerated after Opening,” as is 
appropriate for the product or products. 

 
(d) As is applicable, each producer may include a statement on its label that the product or 
products meet a United States Department of Agriculture standard for grade and color such as 
“U.S. Grade-A Amber” or other applicable United States Department of Agriculture grade and 
color standard. 
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(NEW) Sec. 22-54u-4. Adulterated and Misbranded Products. 

 
(a) No producer shall sell, offer for sale, or provide or exchange, an adulterated product or a 
misbranded product in the state. 

 
(b) The commissioner shall receive allegations from any source of adulterated product or 
products, misbranded product or products, or illness or injury alleged to have been caused by 
a product that is produced in Connecticut by in person communication, telephone, mail or 
other electronic communication to the department. The commissioner shall investigate any 
allegation of an adulterated product or products, misbranded product or products, or illness or 
injury alleged to have been caused by a product that is produced in Connecticut. Such 
investigation may include inspection of any area, including equipment, tools, and of any 
building under the producer’s control where a product is produced, harvested, processed, 
packed, or held, but shall not include a private residence. Such investigation may include 
obtaining samples and specimens for laboratory analysis. 

 
(c) A certificate of analysis from a laboratory of the Connecticut Department of Public 
Health, the Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station, the United States Food and Drug 
Administration, the United States Department of Agriculture or other accredited laboratory 
acceptable to the commissioner, shall be considered prima facie evidence of the ingredients 
and constituents of any sample or specimen submitted for analysis by the commissioner. 

 
 

(NEW) Sec. 22-54u-5. Inspections of Producers. 

 
(a) The commissioner may inspect any lot, location, equipment, or building used to produce, 
harvest, process, pack, or hold a product, excluding a private residence, at a frequency to be 
determined by the commissioner. Such inspection may include obtaining samples and 
specimens for laboratory analysis. A producer not required to be licensed shall be exempt 
from the provisions of this subsection except when such producer’s product is the subject of a 
complaint to the commissioner. 

 
(b) If, after an inspection, the commissioner finds any violation of sections 22-54u-2 to 22-
54u-4, inclusive, of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, the producer shall be 
notified in writing of such finding of a violation, specifying the corrective actions required to 
be taken, and the time period within which such corrective actions shall be taken. 

 
 

(NEW) Sec. 22-54u-6. Enforcement and Penalties. 

 

(a) If, as determined by the commissioner,  a producer does not implement the corrective 
action required to be taken pursuant to section 22-54u-5(b) of the Regulations of Connecticut 
State Agencies to correct a violation of sections 22-54u-2 to 22-54u-4, inclusive, of the 
Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, within the specified time period that the 
corrective action is required to be taken, or to respond to a condition that may present a 
public health hazard, the commissioner may issue any order necessary including orders for 
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the embargo or destruction of any potentially adulterated or misbranded product. An order 
shall become effective upon service, and remain in effect during any appeal of such order to 
the commissioner. The following shall apply to such an order: 

 
(1) No person shall remove, dispose of, sell or offer for sale such product subject to an 
embargo, destruction or quarantine order without the permission of the commissioner. 
Any person aggrieved by any order of the commissioner issued to correct a violation of 
sections 22-54u-2 to 22-54u-4, inclusive, of the Regulations of Connecticut State 
Agencies or an order to respond to a condition that may present a public health hazard 
may appeal to the commissioner. Such appeal request shall be in writing to the 
commissioner, and shall be received by the commissioner not more than fifteen days 
after the date of issuance of such order. Such appeal shall specify any findings to which 
the person objects, and any other grounds for contesting the order. A hearing shall be 
conducted not later than five business days after the receipt of the appeal. If no timely 
appeal is made pursuant to this subsection the order shall be deemed a final order of the 
commissioner, upon expiration of the appeal deadline. 

 
(2) Not later than thirty days following any hearing requested pursuant to subdivision (1) 
of this subsection, the commissioner or the commissioner’s duly appointed hearing 
officer shall issue a final decision as to whether the product subject to an order complies 
with sections 22-54u-2 to 22-54u-4, inclusive, of the Regulations of Connecticut State 
Agencies, and is safe for use as a food. If the commissioner or the commissioner’s duly 
appointed hearing officer determines the product is unsafe or unfit for use as food, the 
commissioner or the commissioner’s duly appointed hearing officer may affirm or 
modify an order issued pursuant to this subsection for such product as they deem proper. 
The commissioner shall supervise the destruction or other disposition of such product. If 
the commissioner or the commissioner’s duly appointed hearing officer finds the product 
is safe for use as food and is not detrimental to public health, or finds such product can be 
properly packaged, marked or otherwise brought into compliance with the provisions of 
sections 22-54u-2 to 22-54u-4, inclusive, of the Regulations of Connecticut State 
Agencies, the commissioner or the commissioner’s appointed hearing officer may revoke 
or modify an order issued pursuant to this subsection for such product as they deem 
proper to be so packaged, marked or otherwise brought into compliance and may 
thereafter authorize the release of such product. The owner of product that is released or 
destroyed shall pay all of the costs of storage, handling, and destruction.  
 

(b) Any person aggrieved by a final decision issued pursuant to subsection (a) of this 
section may appeal therefrom to the Superior Court in New Britain pursuant to chapter 54 of 
the Connecticut General Statutes. 

 
(c) A certificate of analysis from a laboratory of the Connecticut Department of Public 
Health, the Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station, the United States Food and Drug 
Administration, the United States Department of Agriculture or other accredited laboratory 
acceptable to the commissioner, shall be considered prima facie evidence of the ingredients 
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and constituents of any sample or specimen submitted for analysis by the commissioner. 
 

(d) Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit the commissioner’s authority to issue 
a cease and desist order pursuant to section 22-4d of the Connecticut General Statutes or any 
other action authorized by law. 
 
(e) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prevent the commissioner from entering into a 

stipulated agreement or any other remedy with a producer which resolves a disputed violation or 
order. 

 
(f) If the department finds that a producer that is required to be licensed has failed to obtain a 
license pursuant to section 22-54u-2 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, the 
commissioner may issue a civil penalty pursuant to section 22-7 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes. 

 
(g) The commissioner may issue a civil penalty pursuant to section 22-7 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes to any producer who violates any provision of sections 22-54u-2 to 22-54u-
4, inclusive, of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies. 

 
(NEW) Secs. 22-54u-7 --- 22-54u-10. Reserved 
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Statement of Purpose 
Public Act 19-18 transferred the responsibility to regulate the production and sale of Honey 
and Maple Syrup from the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection to the Connecticut 
Department of Agriculture. 

 

Honey and Maple Syrup are products covered by the federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act as 
amended by the Food, Safety Modernization Act (FSMA). and the Food and Drug 
Administration’s (FDA) Current Good Manufacturing Practice, Risk Based Preventive Controls 
for Human Food rules. The FDA rules are published as Title 21, Part 117 of the Code of Federal 
Regulations. 

 
Note: FSMA has provisions built into the federal rule that provide for certain exemptions from 
the requirement to have a food safety plan. The exemptions are based on the relative risk of the 
food being produced, and/or income from the sale of food. 

 

Because honey and maple syrup are considered low risk foods for microbial contamination and 
other hazards, producers of honey and maple syrup are exempted from certain requirements of 
Title 21, Part 117 of the Code of Federal Regulations, notably the requirement for a hazard 
analysis and written food safety plan. Additionally, a vast majority of honey and maple syrup 
producers in this state either qualify as small businesses with sales of less than 1 million dollars 
in food or sales of less than 500,000 thousand dollars in food with > 50% of those sales being 
made to qualified end users, also exempting these producers from the requirement for a hazard 
analysis and written food safety plan. 

 
Section 1 of the regulations defines additional terms used in these regulations. Section 2 of these 
regulations contains the provisions for registration and requires a $50.00 annual registration fee 
for producers of honey and maple syrup with annual gross revenues over $25,000. Honey and 
maple syrup producers required to register have to comply with Current Good Manufacturing 
Practices, including subpart B of Title 21, Part 117, incorporated into section 3(a) of the 
proposed regulations. 

 
All producers of honey and maple syrup (as any food manufacturer) will be required to comply 
with the labeling requirements of Title 21, Part 101 of the Code of Federal Regulations, 
incorporated in section 3(c) of these proposed regulations. 

 

Section 4 prohibits the sale of adulterated or misbranded product, and authorizes the 
commissioner to investigate any such complaints. Section 5 authorizes the commissioner to 
inspect any product and any building, lot, location, and equipment under a producer’s control 
used to process, pack, or hold product, excluding private residences. Section 6 establishes 
enforcement by issuance of orders pursuant to the commissioner’s powers in Connecticut 
General Statute section 22-4c and a hearing process for those aggrieved by an order and civil 
penalties for violations of these regulations, and sections 7-10 are reserved for future use. 
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Secretary of the State 
 

AGENCY CERTIFICATION  

Department of Agriculture 
Proposed Regulation Concerning 

Honey and Maple Syrup 
eRegulations System Tracking Number PR2020-006 

I hereby certify the following: 
     (1) The above-referenced regulation is proposed pursuant to the following statutory authority or 
authorities: 22-54u of the Connecticut General Statutes 
 
For technical amendment regulations proposed without a comment period, complete #2 below, then skip to #8. 

     (2) As permitted by Section 4-168(h) of the Connecticut General Statutes, the agency elected to 
proceed without prior notice or hearing and posted the text of the proposed technical amendment 
regulation on eRegulations System website on (not applicable - not a technical amendment). 

For all other non-emergency proposed regulations, complete #3 - #7 below, then complete #8) 

     (3) The agency posted notice of intent with a specified comment period of not less than 30 days to 
the eRegulations System website on July 14, 2020.   
     (4) (Complete one)   No public hearing held or was required to be held.  OR   One or more public 
hearings were held on: (not applicable). 

     (5) The agency posted notice of decision to move forward with the proposed regulation to the 
eRegulations System website on March 2, 2021. 

     (6) (Complete one)   No comments were received.  OR   Comments were received and the agency 
posted the statements specified in subdivisions (1) and (2) of CGS Section 4-168(e) to the eRegulations 
System website on March 2, 2021.  

     (7) The final wording of the proposed regulation was posted to the eRegulations System website on 
March 2, 2021. 
 
     (8) Subsequent to approval for legal sufficiency by the Attorney General and approval by the 
Legislative Regulation Review Committee, the final regulation shall be effective 
(Check one and complete as applicable)  

 When posted to the eRegulations System website by the Secretary of the State.   

OR   On ______   
 (Date must be a specific calendar date not less than 11 days after submission to the Secretary of the State)  

 
       
                                                             Commissioner    December 21, 2021 
SIGNED – Bryan P. Hurlburt                     OFFICIAL TITLE                  DATE 

IMPORTANT NOTICE FOR CONNECTICUT STATE AGENCIES 
This form is to be used for proposed permanent and technical amendment regulations only and must be completed in full. 
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OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL 

REGULATION CERTIFICATION 
 
 
Agency:   Department of Agriculture 
 
REGULATION NUMBER: PR2020-006 

 
This Regulation is hereby APPROVED by the Attorney 

General as to legal sufficiency in accordance with Connecticut 
General Statutes § 4-169. 

 
 
DATE: 12/22/2022 
 
 
 
Signed:  /s/ Matthew I. Levine  

Matthew I. Levine 
Deputy Associate Attorney General and 
Section Chief for Environment 
Duly Authorized 
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The Connecticut General Assembly 
 

Legislative Regulation Review Committee 

 
 

 

 

Official Record of Committee Action 
 
 

January 24, 2023 
 

Agency: Department of Agriculture 

Description: Honey and Maple Syrup  

LRRC Regulation Number: 2021-007B 

eRegulation Tracking Number: PR2020-006 

 
 

The above-referenced regulation has been 

 
Approved with Technical Corrections 

 
by the Legislative Regulation Review Committee in accordance  

with CGS Section 4-170. 
 

 

Catherine M. Thomas 
Committee Administrator 

 

 
Representative Lucy Dathan 

House Chair 

 
Senator John Kissel 

Senate Chair 
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State of Connecticut 
Office of the Secretary of the State 

 
Confirmation of Electronic Submission  

 
 

Re: Regulation of the Department of Agriculture concerning Honey and Maple 
Syrup 
eRegulations System Tracking Number PR2020-006 
Legislative Regulation Review Committee Docket Number 2021-007B 

 
The above-referenced regulation was electronically submitted to the Office of the 
Secretary of the State in accordance with Connecticut General Statutes Section 4-
172 on February 6, 2023. 

Said regulation is assigned Secretary of the State File Number 6372. 

The effective date of this regulation is February 10, 2023. 

 
 
 

 
Stephanie Thomas 
Secretary of the State 
February 10, 2023 

 
By: 
 
/s/ Christopher R. Drake 
Christopher R. Drake 
Director, Business Services 
Division  
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