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Policies and Procedures regarding Nursing Home Staffing Levels to
implement the requirements of Section 19a-563h.

Section 1. Subsection (m) of Section 19-13-D8t of the regulations of Connecticut General Statutes
is amended as follows:

(m) Nursing staff:

(1) For purposes of this subsection, “direct care staff”’ shall mean licensed nursing personnel and
certified nurse aides that are engaged in direct health care services, that include but are not limited
to, personal care services for residents in nursing homes.

(2) Each facility shall employ sufficient nurses and nurse's aides to provide appropriate care of
[patients] residents housed in the facility [24] twenty-four hours per day, seven days per week,
which shall include a minimum direct care staffing level of three hours of direct care per resident
per day.

[(2)] (3) The number, qualifications, and experience of such personnel shall be sufficient to
assure that each [patient] resident:

(A) receives treatment, therapies, medications and nourishments as prescribed in the patient care
plan developed pursuant to subsection (0) (2) (I) of these regulations;

(B) is kept clean, comfortable and well groomed; and

(C) is protected from accident, incident, infection, or other unusual occurrence.

[(3)] (4) The facility's administrator and director of nurses shall meet at least once every [30]
thirty days in order to determine the number, experience and qualifications of staff necessary to

comply with this section. The facility shall maintain written and signed summaries of actions taken
and reasons therefore.

[(4)] (5) There shall be at least one registered nurse on duty [24] twenty-four hours per day,
seven days per week.

(A) In a chronic and convalescent nursing home, there shall be at least one licensed nurse on
duty on each [patient] resident occupied floor at all times.

(B) In a rest home with nursing supervision, there shall be at least one nurse's aide on duty on
each [patient] resident-occupied floor at all times and intercom communication shall be available
with a licensed nurse.

[(5)] (6) In no instance shall a chronic and convalescent nursing home, or rest home with nursing
supervision have staff below the following standards:

(A) Licensed nursing personnel:
7 a.m. to 9 p.m.: [.47] .57 hours per [patient] resident

9 p.m.to 7 am.: [.17] .27 hours per [patient] resident

(B) [Total nursing and] Nurse's aide personnel:
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7 am.to 9 p.m.: [1.40] 1.60 hours per [patient] resident

9p.m.to7 am.: [.50] .56 hours per [patient] resident

[(6) In no instance shall a rest home with nursing supervision staff below the following
standards:

(A) Licensed nursing personnel:

7 am.to 9 p.m.: .23 hours per patient

9p.m.to7am.: .08 hours per patient
(B) Total nursing and nurse's aide personnel:

7 am. to 9 p.m.: .70 hours per patient

9p.m.to 7 am.: .17 hours per patient]

[(7) In facilities of 61 beds or more, the] (7) The director of nurses or the assistant director of
nurses shall not be included in satisfying the requirements of [subdivisions] subdivision (5) [and
(6)] of this subsection.

[(8) In facilities of 121 beds or more, the assistant director of nurses shall not be included in
satisfying the requirements of subdivisions (5) and (6) of this subsection. ]

Section 2. Subsection (r) of Section 19-13-D8t of the regulations of Connecticut General Statutes
is amended as follows:

(r) Therapeutic Recreation.

(1) Each facility shall have a therapeutic recreation program. The program shall include mentally
and physically stimulating activities to meet individual needs and interests, and shall be consistent
with the overall plan of care for each [patient] resident.

(2) Each facility shall employ therapeutic recreation [director(s)] director or directors.

(A) Persons employed as a therapeutic recreation [director(s)] director or directors in a chronic
and convalescent nursing home and rest home with nursing supervision on or before June 30, 1982
shall have a minimum of a high school diploma or high school equivalency, and shall have
completed a minimum of 80 hours of training in therapeutic recreation. As of July 1, 1992, persons
who meet these criteria but who have not been employed as therapeutic recreation [director(s)]
director or directors in a chronic and convalescent nursing home [and/or] or rest home with nursing
supervision for two continuous years immediately preceding reemployment in such capacity shall
be required to meet the requirements of Section 19-13-D8t (1) (2) (c).

(B) Persons beginning employment as therapeutic recreation [director(s)] director or directors
in a chronic and convalescent nursing home and/or rest home with nursing supervision between
July 1, 1982 and June 30, 1992 shall have the following minimum qualifications:
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(1) An [Associates Degree] associate’s degree with a major emphasis in therapeutic recreation;
or

(i1) Enrollment in a Connecticut certificate program in therapeutic recreation; or

(ii1)) A [Bachelors Degree] bachelor’s degree in a related field and one year of full time
employment in therapeutic recreation in a health care facility; or

(iv) A [Bachelors Degree] bachelor’s degree in a related field and six credit hours in therapeutic
recreation; or

(v) An [Associates Degree] associate’s degree in a related field and two years of full time
employment in therapeutic recreation in a health care facility; or

(vi) An [Associates Degree] associate’s degree in a related field and nine credit hours in
therapeutic recreation.

(vii) As of July 1, 1992, persons who met these criteria but who have not been employed as a
therapeutic recreation director in a health care facility for two continuous years immediately
preceding reemployment in such capacity shall be required to meet the requirements of Section
19-13-D8t (1) (2) (C).

(C) Persons beginning employment as therapeutic recreation director(s) in a chronic and
convalescent nursing home [and/or] or rest home with nursing supervision on or after July 1, 1992
shall have the following minimum qualifications:

(1) An [associates] associate’s degree with a major emphasis in therapeutic recreation; or

(i1) A high school diploma or equivalency and enrollment within six months of employment in
a Connecticut certificate program in therapeutic recreation. Each facility shall maintain records of
the individual's successful completion of courses and continued participation in a minimum of one
course per semester; or

(ii1) A [bachelors] bachelor’s degree in a related field and one year of full time employment in
therapeutic recreation in a health care facility; or

(iv) A [bachelors] bachelor’s degree in a related field and six credit hours in therapeutic
recreation; or

(v) An [associates] associate’s degree in a related field and two years of full time employment
in therapeutic recreation in a health care facility; or

(vi) An [associates] associate’s degree in a related field and nine credit hours in therapeutic
recreation.

(D) “Related field” in subparagraphs (B) and (C) of this subdivision shall include but not be
limited to the following: sociology, social work, psychology, recreation, art, music, dance or drama
therapy, the health sciences, education or other related field as approved by the commissioner or
[his/her] the commissioner’s designee.

(3) Therapeutic recreation [director(s)] director or directors shall be employed in each facility
sufficient to meet the following ratio of hours per week to the number of licensed beds in the
facility:

(A) 1 to 15 beds, [10] nine hours during any three days;

(B) 16 to 30 beds, [20] nineteen hours during any five days; and

(C) Each additional 30 beds or fraction thereof, [20] nineteen additional hours.
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(4) Monthly calendars of therapeutic recreation activities and [patient] resident participation
records for each level of care shall be maintained at each facility for twelve months. These shall
be available for review by representatives of the department.

(A) The calendar for the current month for each level of care shall be completed by the first day
of the month.

(B) Records of [patient] resident participation shall be maintained on a daily basis.
(C) The facility shall submit these records to the department upon the department's request.

(5) An individual therapeutic recreation plan shall be developed for each [patient] resident,
which shall be incorporated in the overall plan of care for that [patient] resident.

Section 3. Subsection (s) of Section 19-13-D8t of the regulations of Connecticut General Statutes
are amended as follows:

(s) Social Work.
(1) Definitions:
(A) Social Work Designee

A social work designee shall have at least an associate's degree in social work or in a related
human service field. Any person employed as a social work designee on January 1, 1989 shall be
eligible to continue in the facility of employment without restriction.

(B) Qualified Social Worker

A qualified social worker shall hold at least a bachelor's degree in social work from a college or
university which was accredited by the Council on Social Work Education at the time of his or her
graduation, and have at least one year social work experience in a health care facility. An individual
who has a bachelor's degree in a field other than social work and a certificate in Post Baccalaureate
Studies in Social Work awarded before the effective date of these regulations by a college
accredited by the Department of Higher Education, and at least one year social work experience
in a health care facility, may perform the duties and carry out the responsibilities of a qualified
social worker for up to three years after the effective date of these regulations.

(C) Qualified Social Work Consultant

A qualified social work consultant shall hold at least a master's degree in social work from a
college or university which was accredited by the Council on Social Work Education at the time
of his or her graduation and have at least one year post-graduate social work experience in a health
care facility. An individual who holds a bachelor's degree in social work from a college or
university which was accredited by the Council on Social Work Education at the time of his or her
graduation, and is under contract as a social work consultant on January 1, 1989, shall be eligible
to continue functioning without restriction as a social work consultant in the [facility(ies)] facility
or facilities which had contracted his or her services.

(2) Each facility shall employ social work service staff to meet the social and emotional
problems [and/] or needs of the [patients] residents based on their medical [and/or] or psychiatric
diagnosis.

(3) The administrator of the facility shall designate in writing a qualified social worker or social
work designee as responsible for the social work service.
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(4) The social work service shall be directed by a qualified social worker or a social work
designee. If the service is under the direction of a social work designee the facility shall contract
for the regular consultation of a qualified social work consultant at least on a quarterly basis.

(5) Social work service staff shall be employed in each facility sufficient to meet the needs of
the [patients] residents but not less than one full-time social worker for a nursing home with sixty
residents, such total number of hours shall vary proportionally based on the number of residents
in the nursing home based on the following ratio of hours per week to the number of [licensed
beds] residents in the facility:

(A) One [(1)] to thirty [(30) beds] residents, [ten (10)] sixteen hours per week.

(B) Thirty-one [(31) to sixty (60) beds twenty (20) hours per week] residents or greater, sixteen
hours per week plus 1.6 hours for each additional three residents in excess of thirty residents.*

[(C) Each additional thirty (30) beds or fraction thereof, ten (10) additional hours].

(6) Written social work service policies and procedures shall be developed and implemented by
a qualified social worker, or social work designee under the direction of a qualified social work
consultant, and ratified by the governing body of the facility. Such standards shall include, but not
be limited to:

(A) Ensuring the confidentiality of all [patients'] residents’ social, emotional, and medical
information, in accordance with the General Statutes of Connecticut, Section 19a-550 (a) (8).

(B) Requiring a prompt referral to an appropriate agency for [patients] residents or families in
need of financial assistance and requiring that a record is maintained of each referral to such agency
in the [patient's] resident’s medical record.

(7) The social work service shall help each [patient] resident to adjust to the social and emotional
aspects of the [patient's] resident’s illness, treatment, and stay in the facility. The medically related
social and emotional needs of the [patient] resident and family shall be identified, a plan of care
developed, and measurable goals set in accordance with the Regulations of Connecticut State
Agencies Sections 19-13-D8t (o) (2) (H) and (o) (2) (D).

(8) All staff of the facility shall receive inservice training by or under the direction of a qualified
social worker or social work designee each year concerning [patients'] residents’ personal and
property rights pursuant to Section 19a-550 of the Connecticut General Statutes.

(9) All staff of the facility shall receive inservice training by a qualified social worker or
qualified social work consultant each year in an area specific to the needs of the facility's [patient]
resident population.

(10) A qualified social worker or social work designee shall participate in planning for the
discharge and transfer of each [patient] resident.

(11) Office facilities shall be easily accessible to [patients] residents and staff or alternate
arrangements shall be available. Each facility shall ensure privacy for interviews between staff
and[: patients, patients'] residents, the resident’s families and [patients'] the resident’s next friend.

* See attached Appendix A of social worker hours.
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Appendix A
# of Social Full time
Residents Worker Equivalent
Hours
30 16 0.50
33 17.6 0.55
36 19.2 0.60
39 20.8 0.65
42 22.4 0.70
45 24 0.75
48 25.6 0.80
51 27.2 0.85
54 28.8 0.90
57 304 0.95
60 32 1.00
63 33.6 1.05
66 35.2 1.10
69 36.8 1.15
72 38.4 1.20
75 40 1.25
78 41.6 1.30
81 43.2 1.35
84 44.8 1.40
87 46.4 1.45
90 48 1.50
93 49.6 1.55
96 51.2 1.60
99 52.8 1.65
102 54.4 1.70
105 56 1.75
108 57.6 1.80
111 59.2 1.85
114 60.8 1.90
117 62.4 1.95
120 64 2.00
123 65.6 2.05
126 67.2 2.10
129 68.8 2.15
132 70.4 2.20
135 72 2.25
138 73.6 2.30
141 75.2 2.35
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144 76.8 2.40
147 78.4 2.45
150 80 2.50
153 81.6 2.55
156 83.2 2.60
159 84.8 2.65
162 86.4 2.70
165 88 2.75
168 89.6 2.80
171 91.2 2.85
174 92.8 2.90
177 94.4 2.95
180 96 3.00
183 97.6 3.05
186 99.2 3.10
189 100.8 3.15
192 102.4 3.20
195 104 3.25
198 105.6 3.30
201 107.2 3.35
204 108.8 3.40
207 110.4 3.45
210 112 3.50
213 113.6 3.55
216 115.2 3.60
219 116.8 3.65
222 118.4 3.70
225 120 3.75
228 121.6 3.80
231 123.2 3.85
234 124.8 3.90
237 126.4 3.95
240 128 4.00
243 129.6 4.05
246 131.2 4.10
249 132.8 4.15
252 134.4 4.20
255 136 4.25
258 137.6 4.30
261 139.2 4.35
264 140.8 4.40
267 142.4 4.45
270 144 4.50
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273 145.6 4.55
276 147.2 4.60
279 148.8 4.65
282 150.4 4.70
285 152 4.75
288 153.6 4.80
291 155.2 4.85
294 156.8 4.90
297 158.4 4.95
300 160 5.00
303 161.6 5.05
306 163.2 5.10
309 164.8 5.15
312 166.4 5.20
315 168 5.25
318 169.6 5.30
321 171.2 5.35
324 172.8 5.40
327 174.4 5.45
330 176 5.50
333 177.6 5.55
336 179.2 5.60
339 180.8 5.65
342 182.4 5.70
345 184 5.75
348 185.6 5.80
351 187.2 5.85
354 188.8 5.90
357 190.4 5.95
360 192 6.00
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