Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies

Sec. 12-732(a)-2. Claim for refund by nonobligated spouse

(a) Except as otherwise provided in § 12-732(b)-1 of this Part or in section 12-732 of
the Connecticut General Statutes, if a joint Connecticut income tax return has been filed by
an obligated spouse and a nonobligated spouse, and the tax imposed by the Income Tax Act
has been overpaid, the nonobligated spouse may file a written claim for refund of the
nonobligated spouse’s share of the joint Connecticut income tax overpayment with the
Commissioner within three years from the due date for which such overpayment was made,
stating the specific grounds upon which such claim is founded. The nonobligated spouse’s
share of the joint Connecticut income tax overpayment shall be determined by subtracting
the nonobligated spouse’s share of the joint Connecticut income tax liability from the
nonobligated spouse’s contribution to the joint Connecticut income tax liability, provided,
the nonobligated spouse’s share of the joint Connecticut income tax overpayment may not
exceed the joint overpayment.

(b) A nonobligated spouse may claim his or her share of the joint Connecticut income
tax overpayment by attaching, as the cover page, a Form CT-8379 (Nonobligated Spouse
Claim) to his or her tax return or amended tax return, as the case may be.

(c) For purposes of this section—

(1) “Nonobligated spouse” is the person who is married to, and has filed a joint
Connecticut income tax return with, an obligated spouse.

(2) “Obligated spouse” means the person who is married to, and has filed a joint
Connecticut income tax return with, a nonobligated spouse and (A) who owes a debt or
obligation for which the Commissioner of Administrative Services is seeking reimbursement
(and against which debt or obligation the obligated spouse’s share of a joint Connecticut
income tax overpayment may be credited by the Commissioner of Revenue Services in
accordance with § 12-742-1) or (B) against whom an order of the superior court or a family
support magistrate for support of a minor child or children has been issued and who owes
past-due support of, in a case under the temporary assistance for needy families (T.A.N.F.)
program pursuant to Title IV-A of the Social Security Act (42 USC 601 et seq., $150 or
more and, in a non-T.A.N.F. IV-D support case (as defined in Section 46b-231(b) of the
Connecticut General Statutes), $500 or more.

(3) “Nonobligated spouse’s share of a joint Connecticut income tax liability” shall be
determined by multiplying the joint Connecticut income tax liability by a fraction, the
numerator of which is the nonobligated spouse’s separate Connecticut income tax liability
(as if a joint Connecticut income tax return had not been filed) and the denominator of
which is the sum of each spouse’s separate Connecticut income tax liability (as if a joint
Connecticut income tax return had not been filed).

(4) “Nonobligated spouse’s contribution to the joint Connecticut income tax liability”
shall be determined by adding to such spouse’s share of joint estimated Connecticut income
tax payments, if any, and such spouse’s share of joint tentative Connecticut income tax
payments, if any, accompanying a Form CT-1040 EXT or Form CT-1127, the sum of (A)
Connecticut income tax withheld from the nonobligated spouse’s income and (B) separate
estimated Connecticut income tax payments, if any, made by the nonobligated spouse.

(5) “Nonobligated spouse’s share of joint estimated Connecticut income tax payments”
shall be determined by multiplying the joint estimated Connecticut income tax payments
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by a fraction, the numerator of which is the nonobligated spouse’s separate Connecticut
income tax liability (as if a joint Connecticut income tax return had not been filed) and the
denominator of which is the sum of each spouse’s separate Connecticut income tax liability
(as if a joint Connecticut income tax return had not been filed).

(6) “Nonobligated spouse’s share of joint tentative Connecticut income tax payments”
shall be determined by multiplying the joint tentative Connecticut income tax payments by
a fraction, the numerator of which is the nonobligated spouse’s separate Connecticut income
tax liability (as if a joint Connecticut income tax return had not been filed) and the
denominator of which is the sum of each spouse’s separate Connecticut income tax liability
(as if a joint Connecticut income tax return had not been filed).

(7) “Tax return” means the Form CT-1040 or Form CT-1040NR/PY, as the case may be.

(8) “Amended tax return” means the Form CT-1040X.

(d) The following example illustrates the application of this section.

Example: A and B are married and filed a joint 1992 Form CT-1040 showing a
Connecticut income tax liability of $4,500 and payments made in connection therewith of
$4,800, so that there is a joint Connecticut income tax overpayment of $300. A’s Connecticut
adjusted gross income of $75,000 equaled his federal adjusted gross income. B’s
Connecticut adjusted gross income of $25,000 equaled her federal adjusted gross income.
A reported $60,000 of wages, from which $2,800 of Connecticut income tax was withheld,
and $15,000 of other income. B reported $20,000 of wages, from which $1,000 of
Connecticut income tax was withheld, and $5,000 of other income. A and B filed a joint
Form CT-1040 ES and paid $1,000 in estimated Connecticut income tax payments. A is an
obligated spouse. B, the nonobligated spouse, claims her share of the joint Connecticut
income tax overpayment by attaching, as the cover page, a Form CT-8379 to the joint 1992
Form CT-1040.

B’s share of the joint Connecticut income tax liability is determined by multiplying the
joint Connecticut income tax liability ($4,500) by a fraction, the numerator of which is B’s
separate Connecticut income tax liability (as if B had not filed a joint Connecticut income
tax return with A) of $535.50 and the denominator of which is the sum of each spouse’s
separate Connecticut income tax liability (as if a joint Connecticut income tax return had
not been filed) of $3,910.50 (consisting of B’s separate Connecticut income tax liability of
$535.50 and A’s separate Connecticut income tax liability of $3,375.00). Thus, B’s share of
the joint Connecticut income tax liability is $616.22.

B’s contribution to the joint Connecticut income tax liability is determined by adding to
B’s share of the joint estimated Connecticut income tax payments the $1,000 of Connecticut
income tax withheld from B’s income. (Neither A nor B made separate estimated
Connecticut income tax payments.) B’s share of the joint estimated Connecticut income tax
payments is determined by multiplying the joint estimated Connecticut income tax payments
($1,000) by a fraction, the numerator of which is B’s separate Connecticut income tax
liability (as if a joint Connecticut income tax return had not been filed) of $535.50 and the
denominator of which is sum of each spouse’s separate Connecticut income tax liability (as
if a joint Connecticut income tax return had not been filed) of $3,910.50. Thus, B’s
contribution to the joint Connecticut income tax liability is $1,136.94 (consisting of the
$1,000 of Connecticut income tax withheld from B’s income and the $136.94 that is B’s
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share of the joint estimated Connecticut income tax payments).

Ordinarily, B’s share of the joint Connecticut income tax overpayment would be
determined by subtracting B’s share of the joint Connecticut income tax liability ($616.22)
from B’s contribution to the joint Connecticut income tax liability ($1,136.94); however,
B’s share of the joint Connecticut income tax overpayment cannot exceed the joint
overpayment ($300). Therefore, B’s share of the joint Connecticut income tax overpayment
is $300, and A’s share is $0.

(e) While this section pertains to Section 12-732(a) of the general statutes, for purposes
of supplementary interpretation, as the phrase is used in Section 12-2 of the general statutes,
the adoption of this section is authorized by Section 12-740(a) of the general statutes.

(Effective November 18, 1994; Amended March 8, 2006)




