

STATE OF CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES



Legal Services Division 60 State Street, Wethersfield, CT 06161; (860) 263-5130 <u>http://ct.gov/dmv</u>

NOTICE OF INTENT TO AMEND AND REPEAL REGULATION

In accordance with the provisions of subsection (a) of Section 4-168 of the Connecticut General Statutes, notice is hereby given that the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, pursuant to Section 14-227b(o) of the Connecticut General Statutes, proposes to amend sections 14-227b-1 to 14-227b-3, inclusive, 14-227b-5, 14-227b-6, 14-227b-10 to 14-227b-16, inclusive, 14-227b-18, 14-227b-19, 14-227b-21, 14-227b-24, 14-227b-27, 14-227b-29a, and repeal section 14-227b-26 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies.

Statement of Purpose: The purpose of this proposed regulation is to implement statutory changes from legislation adopted from 2009 through 2014 regarding the agency's administrative "per se" procedures. The major revisions to the regulation include the following: (1) establishes the requirement that an operator install an ignition interlock device (IID) as a condition of restoration of his or her operator's license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle after serving a suspension; (2) allows law enforcement personnel to electronically submit to the Department of Motor Vehicles the information contained in the A-44 "Operating Under the Influence" Form as an alternative to mailing a hard copy; (3) clarifies the provisions relating to administrative "per se" hearing continuances; (4) requires the service of a subpoena to provide at least 72 hours' notice when summoning a police officer to appear at an administrative "per se" hearing; and (5) eliminates a requirement that an operator automatically prevail in a hearing under this section in the event that the commissioner has not rendered a decision within thirty (30) days from the date of arrest. The proposal has also been amended throughout for grammar, gender neutrality and clarity.

This notice has been published on the Secretary of the State's website, <u>www.sots.ct.gov/sots</u>, in accordance with section 4-168 of the Connecticut General Statutes. A copy of the complete text of the regulation, the small business impact statement and the regulation's fiscal estimate are also available for inspection on that website. Links to this notice, the proposed regulation and supporting materials are also available on the agency's website at <u>www.dmv.ct.gov</u>. After reaching this site, select the "Laws and Regulations" icon on the right hand side of the agency's webpage. These documents may also be obtained at no cost upon request by contacting the Department of Motor Vehicles, Legal Services Division, 60 State Street, Room 164, Wethersfield, CT 06161, attention: Anne F. Howroyd, by phone at (860) 263-5130 or via e-mail at <u>anne.howroyd@ct.gov</u>.

All interested persons are invited to submit written comments, views or arguments in connection with the proposed action to the Department of Motor Vehicles, Legal Services Division, 60 State Street, Room 164, Wethersfield, CT 06161, attention: Anne F. Howroyd, or via e-mail at <u>anne.howroyd@ct.gov</u>, within 30 days following publication of this notice on the Secretary of the State's regulations webpage.