Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies

TITLE 5. State Employees

Agency

Department of Administrative Services

Subject

Vacation Leave

Inclusive Sections

§§ 5-250-1—5-250-8

CONTENTS

Sec.	5-250-1.	Vacations
Sec.	5-250-2.	Rate of accrual
Sec.	5-250-3.	Credit for leave
Sec.	5-250-4.	Selection of vacation time
Sec.	5-250-5.	Holiday credit when on vacation leave
Sec.	5-250-6.	Sickness when on vacation leave
Sec.	5-250-7.	Recording of vacation leave
Sec.	5-250-8.	Personal leave

Revised: 2025-5-21

TITLE 5. State Employees

Department of Administrative Services

\$5-250-6

Vacation Leave

Sec. 5-250-1. Vacations

Vacation leave with pay shall be granted to each full-time employee in a permanent position or within a full-time employee's initial working test period in state service.

(Effective December 30, 1980; Amended May 12, 2025)

Sec. 5-250-2. Rate of accrual

- (a) Vacation leave shall be credited to an eligible full time employee at the rate of one and one-quarter work days of vacation leave for each complete month of continuous service.
- (b) An eligible employee employed on less than a full-time workweek basis shall earn leave for continuous service prorated in proportion to the amount of time actually worked as recorded in the attendance and leave records, in comparison with the full-time workweek.

(Effective September 14, 1976)

Sec. 5-250-3. Credit for leave

- (a) Such leave starts to accrue only on the first working day of the calendar month and is credited to the eligible employee on the completion of the calendar month.
- (b) No leave shall accrue for any calendar month in which an employee is on leave of absence without pay more than an aggregate of three working days.
- (c) Vacation leave shall accrue to the credit of an eligible employee for the first twelve months in which said employee is receiving compensation benefits in accordance with Section 5-142 or 5-143 of the General Statutes.

(Effective July 9, 1975)

Sec. 5-250-4. Selection of vacation time

Subject to the appointing authority's approval, employees shall be allowed to choose the time of their own vacation. In the event of conflicting schedules of leave, length of state service shall control.

Sec. 5-250-5. Holiday credit when on vacation leave

A holiday or a day granted by statute in lieu thereof granted to state employees occurring during the vacation of an employee shall be recorded as a holiday, and not as a day of vacation. When a full day off is granted by act of the Governor, an employee on vacation shall not have the day charged as a vacation day.

(Effective July 9, 1975)

Revised: 2025-5-21

Sec. 5-250-6. Sickness when on vacation leave

If an employee is sick while on vacation leave, the time shall be charged against credited sick leave supported by a medical certificate filed with and satisfactory to the appointing

Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies

TITLE 5. State Employees

\$5-250-7

Department of Administrative Services

Revised: 2025-5-21

authority.

(Effective July 9, 1975)

Sec. 5-250-7. Recording of vacation leave

All leaves shall be recorded in the attendance and leave records maintained by the appointing authority. These records shall be subject to review by the Commissioner of Administrative Services and shall be available, at reasonable times, to the employee concerned.

(Effective January 18, 1984)

Sec. 5-250-8. Personal leave

- (a) Each full-time permanent employee or full-time employee within such employee's initial working test period in state service shall be entitled to three days of personal leave with pay in each calendar year. Such personal leave shall be granted as requested by the employee, subject to the approval of the appointing authority.
- (b) An eligible employee within such employee's initial working test period in state service who began such employment after July first of a calendar year shall have such employee's three days of personal leave be prorated for their first calendar year of employment and such proration shall be based on the number of full calendar months remaining in the calendar year after such employee began employment divided by six.

(Effective July 9, 1975; Amended May 12, 2025)