Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies

Sec. 16-245a-2. Registration of renewable energy electric generating units

(a) Units located within New England. The department shall issue registration numbers
to electric generation units eligible as Class I or Class Il renewable energy sources that have
submitted a registration application to the NEPOOL GIS. Such renewable energy electric
units shall apply for registration on a form prescribed by the department.

(b) Facilities located outside New England. The department shall issue registration
numbers to electric generation units eligible as Class I or Class Il renewable energy sources
located outside NEPOOL as permitted by section 16-245a(a)(2) of the Connecticut General
Statutes. Such renewable energy electric generation units shall apply for registration on a
form prescribed by the department.

(c) Facilities subject to emissions limitations. Each electric generation unit subject to
the average nitrogen oxide rate restrictions contained in the definitions of Class I and Class
II renewable energy sources shall file with the department within forty-five (45) days of
the end of each calendar quarter an affidavit attesting to the unit’s average nitrogen oxide
emission rate per million BTU of heat input for such quarter. Upon receipt of such
information, the department shall notify the applicable generation information system
administrator of such unit’s eligibility for trading as a renewable energy resource in
Connecticut. Failure to file such affidavit may result in the revocation of the renewable
energy unit’s registration number, rendering energy generated by the unit ineligible for
trading as a renewable energy resource in Connecticut.

(d) Audits. The department may audit any renewable energy electric generation unit at
any time to determine the unit’s eligibility as a Class I or Class II renewable energy source.

(e) Objections to classification. Any person that objects to the department’s
classification of an electric generating unit pursuant to this section may request a declaratory
ruling from the Department of Public Utility Control pursuant to section 4-176 of the
Connecticut General Statutes as to the electric generating unit’s eligibility as a Class [ or
Class II renewable energy source.

(f) Notification of changed information. If any of the information provided in a
registration application submitted pursuant to this section changes, the department shall be
notified of any such changes within 10 days. Failure to notify the department of such
changed information within 10 days may result in the revocation of the renewable energy
unit’s registration number.

(Adopted effective October 7, 2004)




