Sec. 10-392-4. Program divisions; organization; functions

- (a) The commission is currently composed of four program divisions which are under the overall direction of the executive director. Each program division is under the supervision of a program division director who is responsible for administering and coordinating the activities in the program director's division. The executive director may delegate the authority to conduct hearings to a program director when the subject matter of such hearing relates to the functions of that director's program division. The current program divisions of the Commission are:
- (1) The Arts Division. This division is responsible for supporting, developing and strengthening the arts in all its forms. This division strives to broaden the reach of the arts by making available to state residents and visitors various artistic experiences. The commission's grant programs administered by the division invest in state artists and arts organizations and encourage public participation in creating, learning about, supporting and enjoying the arts.
- (2) The Film Division. This division is responsible for coordinating the commission's efforts to develop and maintain a thriving film, television and digital media industry statewide. This division is the principal contact point for entertainment media producers and developers desiring to do business in this state and serves as a one-stop clearinghouse for production information to help ensure this state's status as an ideal production locale. This division also administers, in cooperation with the Department of Revenue Services, the film production, digital animation and entertainment media infrastructure tax credit programs.
- (3) The Historic Preservation and Museum Division. This division functions under state and federal law as the State's Historic Preservation Office. This division is responsible for administering a broad range of federal and state statutes and programs designed to identify, register and protect and maintain the buildings, structures sites, districts, artifacts and objects that comprise this state's cultural heritage. The division also operates a number of historic properties statewide.
- (4) The Tourism Division. This division is responsible for coordinating the commission's efforts to make tourism a source of pride and a leading contributor to the State's economy. This division works in concert with the State's business community and five regional tourism districts to encourage strategic tourism industry investment to help ensure that this state is positioned as a prime destination for both leisure and business travelers. The division offers the tourism industry a broad range of services including marketing, research, hospitality services and direct sales assistance. The division also operates six welcome centers in various gateway locations statewide.
- (b) The administrative support division in the office of the executive director provides administrative and fiscal support to the program divisions and executive director. The commission's human resources service and support is provided by the SmART unit within the Department of Administrative Services.

(Adopted effective September 18, 2009)