Sec. 29-161-5. Civil penalties

- (a) Civil penalties in amounts ranging from \$500 to \$5,000 may be assessed against a licensee, corporate officer or association or partnership member of the licensee for any violation of sections 29-153 to 29-161, inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes including, but not limited to, the specific offenses described as follows:
 - (1) Failure to state trade name or corporation name;
- (2) Failure to provide 30-day written notice to the department of changes in liability insurance or the surety bond posted;
- (3) Failure to allow the department to inspect, review or copy records that are the subject of a complaint;
- (4) Failure to display the license certificate or copies thereof in a conspicuous location within the business office and suboffices;
- (5) Failure to display the licensee identification card issued by the department when engaged in the activities of the licensed business;
- (6) Failure to register nonuniformed investigators, operators or agents with the department;
- (7) Failure to provide five-day written notice to the department of the termination of a registered employee;
- (8) Failure to issue an identification card to nonuniformed investigators, operators or agents;
- (9) Failure to provide five-day written notice to the department of the location of a suboffice;
- (10) Engaging in fraudulent or deceitful conduct or making deliberate misrepresentations as to any material fact;
 - (11) Failure to comply with records retention requirements; or
- (12) Engaging in any misconduct that would constitute a basis for a license to be suspended or revoked, as provided in section 29-158 of the Connecticut General Statutes.
- (b) Civil penalties in amounts ranging from \$500 to \$5,000 may be assessed against a nonuniformed investigator, operator or agent of a licensee for any violation of sections 29-153 to 29-161, inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes including, but not limited to, the specific offenses described as follows:
- (1) Failure of a nonuniformed investigator, operator or agent to carry an identification card; or
 - (2) Unauthorized release of information.
- (c) Civil penalties in amounts ranging from \$500 to \$5,000 may be assessed against a licensee, corporate officer or association or partnership member of the licensee or a nonuniformed investigator, operator or agent of a licensee for any violation of sections 29-153 to 29-161, inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes including, but not limited to, falsification of records submitted to the department.
- (d) Civil penalties in amounts ranging from \$500 to \$5,000 may be assessed against any person for any violation of sections 29-153 to 29-161, inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes including, but not limited to, operating without a license.

(Adopted effective June 29, 2007)