# TITLE 1. Provisions of General Application

#### Agency

# **Department of Motor Vehicles**

### Subject

# Identity Card Issued To Persons Who Do Not Possess Motor Vehicle Operator Licenses

Inclusive Sections §§ 1-1h-1—1-1h-8

#### **CONTENTS**

| Sec. 1-1h-1—1-1h-3. | Repealed, August 27, 1992. (Repealed) |
|---------------------|---------------------------------------|
| Sec. 1-1h-4.        | Requirements for issuance             |
| Sec. 1-1h-5.        | License suspension                    |
| Sec. 1-1h-6.        | Duplicate identity cards              |
| Sec. 1-1h-7.        | Content of identity card              |
| Sec. 1-1h-8.        | Waiver of fee for homeless applicants |

Revised: 2015-3-6

Department of Motor Vehicles

\$1-1h-7

# Identity Card Issued To Persons Who Do Not Possess Motor Vehicle Operator Licenses

#### Sec. 1-1h-1—1-1h-3. Repealed, August 27, 1992. (Repealed)

Repealed August 27, 1992.

#### Sec. 1-1h-4. Requirements for issuance

The following requirements must be met as a prerequisite to the issuance of an identity card pursuant to section 1-1h of the General Statutes, as amended:

- (a) The applicant must be a resident of Connecticut.
- (b) The applicant shall make application on a form provided by the commissioner of motor vehicles, shall sign the application, and shall pay the fee provided in section 1-1h of the Connecticut General Statutes. Each applicant also shall be required to provide on the application his or her federal social security number or, if the applicant is not eligible to be assigned such number, to provide the appropriate non-eligibility statement issued by the United States Social Security Administration (Form SSA L676, or similar form). If a person is unable to sign the application because of a health problem or other bona fide reason, a person designated by the applicant may sign for the applicant.

(Effective August 27, 1992; Amended August 31, 2006)

#### Sec. 1-1h-5. License suspension

A person whose operator's license is presently under suspension is eligible to make application for an identity card. The commissioner may require surrender of a previously issued identity card upon reinstatement of a person's operator's license.

(Effective August 27, 1992)

Revised: 2015-3-6

#### Sec. 1-1h-6. Duplicate identity cards

A person, whose identity card has been lost, stolen or destroyed, may file an application for a duplicate identity card including payment of the statutory fee. If the application for a duplicate identity card is filed within a four (4) year period from issuance of the previous identity card, the person must submit therewith an affidavit certifying, under penalty of false statement, that the previous identity card was lost, stolen or destroyed. If the previous identity card is subsequently recovered, it shall be returned to the commissioner of motor vehicles within seven (7) days thereafter.

(Effective August 27, 1992; Amended August 31, 2006)

#### Sec. 1-1h-7. Content of identity card

- (a) An identity card shall include a picture of the applicant; his or her height, sex and eye color; residence address, including zip code; and other information, as determined by the commissioner.
  - (b) A distinctive identity card shall be issued to an applicant less than twenty-one (21)

#### TITLE 1. Provisions of General Application

\$1-1h-8

Department of Motor Vehicles

years of age.

(c) An identity card shall contain a statement that it is issued subject to the same verification of the identity of the applicant as required for the issuance of a motor vehicle operator's license.

(Effective August 27, 1992; Amended August 31, 2006)

# Sec. 1-1h-8. Waiver of fee for homeless applicants

- (a) As used in this section:
- (1) "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles or his authorized representative.
- (2) "Homeless applicant" means any individual who is a resident of a homeless shelter or other facility for homeless persons located in the State of Connecticut.
- (3) "Homeless shelter" means any shelter to which operating funds are provided by the State of Connecticut Department of Social Services.
- (4) "Other facility for homeless persons" means any non-profit group facility that is sponsored by a Connecticut municipality or community organization to provide shelter services.
- (b) The commissioner may waive the fee for an identity card for any applicant who is a resident of a homeless shelter or other facility for homeless persons when the following conditions are met:
- (1) The homeless applicant completes an application in accordance with section 1-1h of the Connecticut General Statutes.
- (2) The homeless applicant provides satisfactory written evidence to the commissioner, signed and certified by an official of a homeless shelter or other facility for homeless persons, that such applicant is a resident of said shelter or facility. Satisfactory written evidence of the homeless applicant's residence shall be provided on a form provided by the commissioner.
- (c) When the commissioner agrees to waive the fee for an identity card for a homeless applicant, the address of the homeless shelter or other facility for homeless persons shall be listed on the identity card as the homeless applicant's residence.
- (d) In accordance with section 14-45(a) of the Connecticut General Statutes, a homeless applicant who has been issued an identity card by the commissioner shall notify him or her within forty-eight (48) hours of any change of the address listed on said identity card. The notification shall include the homeless applicant's old address and new address.

(Adopted effective March 2, 2010)