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Assessment of Civil Penalties 

Assessment of Civil Penalties 

Sec. 22a-6b-100—22a-6b-701. Repealed 
Repealed May 29, 2007. 

Administrative Civil Penalty 

Sec. 22a-6b-1. Authority 
Sections 22a-6b-1 to 22a-6b-15, inclusive, shall be known as the department’s 

Administrative Civil Penalty Regulations. 
(Adopted effective May 29, 2007) 

Sec. 22a-6b-2. Purpose 
The department’s Administrative Civil Penalty Regulations are intended to: establish 

standards and procedures for assessing administrative civil penalties for violations of certain 
statutes, regulations, orders, and licenses administered or issued by the commissioner; 
expedite the department’s administrative enforcement processes; remove any competitive 
or financial gain associated with noncompliance; insure immediate compliance and deter 
future noncompliance; and assure fairness and consistency in the assessment of 
administrative civil penalties. The department’s Administrative Civil Penalty Regulations 
are only applicable to administrative enforcement actions as identified herein and taken 
hereunder. 
(Adopted effective May 29, 2007) 

Sec. 22a-6b-3. Definitions 
As used in the department’s Administrative Civil Penalty Regulations, 
(1) “100-Year Floodplain” means that area that is identified as the 100-year flood limit 

or the 100-year flood boundary or the special flood hazard areas inundated by the 100-year 
flood on a map developed by FEMA and adopted by the municipality wherein the area is 
located; 

(2) “Administrative civil penalty” means a penalty calculated in accordance with the 
department’s Administrative Civil Penalty Regulations; 

(3) “Approval” means an approval issued by the commissioner of any document or action 
required or allowed by a permit or order issued by him, or of any document or action 
required by regulation or statute; 

(4) “Coastal resources” means “coastal resources” as defined in section 22a-93 of the 
Connecticut General Statutes; 

(5) “Commissioner” means “commissioner” as defined in subsection (b) of section 22a-
2 of the Connecticut General Statutes; 

(6) “Connecticut natural diversity data base” means the data base defined in section 23-
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73 of the Connecticut General Statutes; 
(7) “Consumptive use” means any withdrawal from or removal of the waters of the state; 
(8) “Department” means the Connecticut Department of Environmental Protection; 
(9) “Diversion” means diversion as defined in section 22a-367 of the Connecticut 

General Statutes; 
(10) “FEMA” means the Federal Emergency Management Agency; 
(11) “Flood fringe” means any portion of the 100-year floodplain that is not located 

within the floodway; 
(12) “Floodway” means that area that is identified as the floodway on a map developed 

by FEMA and adopted by the municipality wherein the area is located; 
(13) “General permit” means a general permit issued by the commissioner under section 

22a-45a, 22a-208a, 22a-349a, 22a-361, 22a-378a or 22a-411 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes; 

(14) “Hearing officer” means “hearing officer” as defined in section 4-166 of the 
Connecticut General Statutes; 

(15) “Inland water resources” means those wetlands and water resources that are 
regulated under sections 22a-36 through 22a-45a, sections 22a-342 through 22a-349a, 
sections 22a-365 through 22a-379, and sections 22a-401 through 22a-411 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes; 

(16) “Inland wetlands” means “wetlands” as defined in section 22a-38 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes; 

(17) “Legal requirement” means any provision of a statute, regulation, license, order or 
approval issued, entered, adopted or administered by the commissioner; 

(18) “License” means “license” as defined in section 4-166 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes; 

(19) “Order” means “order” as defined in section 22a-3a-2 of the Regulations of 
Connecticut State Agencies, and includes a penalty notice; 

(20) “Penalty notice” means a notice issued by the commissioner pursuant to subsection 
(c) of section 22a-6b of the Connecticut General Statutes, and includes an amended penalty 
notice; 

(21) “Permit” means a permit issued by the commissioner under Chapter 439, 440, 441, 
446i, or 446j of the Connecticut General Statutes and includes a certificate of permission, 
a certificate of approval pursuant to section 22a-405 of the Connecticut General Statutes, a 
temporary authorization or emergency authorization pursuant to section 22a-6k of the 
Connecticut General Statutes, and a general permit; 

(22) “Person” means “person” as defined in section 22a-2 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes; 

(23) “Rare, threatened or endangered species” means any species determined by the 
commissioner in regulations adopted under section 26-306 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes to be endangered, threatened, or species of special concern; 

(24) “Referee” means an individual appointed by the Director of the Office of 
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Adjudications to conduct a settlement conference in a department proceeding. Such 
individual may be an employee of the department; 

(25) “Respondent” means a person to whom or which an order is issued; 
(26) “Staff” means “staff” as defined in section 22a-3a-2(a) of the Regulations of 

Connecticut State Agencies; 
(27) “Tidal wetlands” mean “wetland” as defined in section 22a-29 of the Connecticut 

General Statutes; 
(28) “Violation” means a failure to comply with a legal requirement; 
(29) “Waters” means “waters” as defined in section 22a-423 of the Connecticut General 

Statutes; 
(30) “Water Quality Standards” means the standards of water quality adopted or amended 

by the commissioner under section 22a-426 of the Connecticut General Statutes; 
(31) “Watercourses” means “watercourses” as defined in section 22a-38 of the 

Connecticut General Statutes; and 
(32) “Wetlands” means “inland wetlands” and “tidal wetlands”. 

(Adopted effective May 29, 2007) 

Sec. 22a-6b-4. Procedures 
Except as may be provided in section 22a-6b of the Connecticut General Statutes and in 

the department’s Administrative Civil Penalty Regulations, all proceedings on penalty 
notices shall be governed by the department’s Rules of Practice, sections 22a-3a-2 and 22a-
3a-6 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies. 
(Adopted effective May 29, 2007) 

Sec. 22a-6b-5. Scope of issues at hearing 
The issues that may be raised at a hearing on a penalty notice shall be pertinent to any of 

the following: 
(1) Occurrence of the stated violation; 
(2) Assessment of the administrative civil penalty; 
(3) Mitigating factors; and 
(4) Any other issue required by law for the commissioner to determine in a hearing on a 

penalty notice. 
(Adopted effective May 29, 2007) 

Sec. 22a-6b-6. Burden of proof 
In any proceeding on a penalty notice, the staff shall have the burden of going forward 

and of persuasion as to the occurrence of a violation and the assessment of the penalty 
consistent with section 22a-6b of the Connecticut General Statutes and the department’s 
Administrative Civil Penalty Regulations, except that the respondent shall have the burden 
of going forward and of persuasion as to any factor tending to mitigate the amount of the 
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penalty assessed for such violation. 
(Adopted effective May 29, 2007) 

Sec. 22a-6b-7. Commissioner’s powers 
Nothing in the department’s Administrative Civil Penalty Regulations shall affect the 

commissioner’s authority to institute any other proceeding authorized by law. 
(Adopted effective May 29, 2007) 

Sec. 22a-6b-8. Method and schedule for calculating an administrative civil penalty 
The requirements and procedures of this section incorporate the criteria listed in sections 

22a-6b(b)(1) through 22a-6b(b)(10) of the Connecticut General Statutes, and shall be used 
to determine the administrative civil penalty amount for each distinct violation. The 
commissioner may consider any violation to be distinct for each day such violation existed. 
The commissioner may assess a separate administrative civil penalty for each distinct 
violation in order to ensure immediate or continued compliance. No administrative civil 
penalty assessed pursuant to the department’s Administrative Civil Penalty Regulations 
shall exceed the maximum allowable penalty set forth in section 22a-6b of the Connecticut 
General Statutes. 

(a) Administrative Civil Penalty Determination. 
The penalty for each distinct violation shall be determined as follows: Calculate the 

amount of economic benefit resulting from the violation in accordance with subsection (b), 
calculate the gravity-based penalty component in accordance with subsection (c), and 
calculate the gravity-based penalty adjustments in accordance with subsection (d). The 
administrative civil penalty for each distinct violation is the sum of the economic benefit, 
gravity-based penalty component, and any gravity-based penalty adjustments. 

(b) Economic Benefit. 
If the respondent derived a measurable economic benefit, such as savings in money, time 

and effort, as a result of the violation, the commissioner shall calculate the amount of such 
economic benefit. Economic benefit includes but may not be limited to lower, delayed or 
avoided compliance costs. The commissioner need not calculate economic benefit if there 
is no identifiable benefit from the noncompliance or the amount of economic benefit cannot 
be quantified. The total economic benefit for a violation shall not be less than zero. 

(c) Gravity-Based Penalty Component.  
The gravity-based penalty component shall be calculated as follows: 
(1) Inland Water Resources, Stream Channel Encroachment Lines, Water Diversion or 

Dam Safety Violations.  
Each distinct violation of section 22a-39, 22a-42a, 22a-45a, 22a-342, 22a-345 through 

22a-347, 22a-349a, 22a-368, 22a-401 through 22a-405, or 22a-411 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes, or of any regulation, order or permit administered or issued thereunder, 
or of an order issued or administered under section 22a-6 or 22a-7 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes to enforce any provision of sections 22a-36 through 22a-45a, sections 22a-
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342 through 22a-349a, sections 22a-365 through 22a-379, or sections 22a-401 through 22a-
411 of the Connecticut General Statutes, shall first be evaluated in terms of its potential for 
harm to human health and welfare and the environment using each of the four sub-factors 
listed in Table 1A. The applicable sub-score under each sub-factor is the highest score that 
corresponds to the characteristics of the distinct violation. A sub-score of zero shall be used 
for any sub-factor for which none of the listed characteristics are associated with such 
violation. The total potential for harm score for each distinct violation is the sum of the four 
sub-scores. 
  

Table 1A 
Potential For Harm Sub-factors For Inland Water Resources, Stream Channel En-

croachment Lines, Water Diversion Or Dam Safety Violations
SUB-FAC-

TOR 1:
Potential Impact To The Environment, To Human Health And Wel-
fare, Or To Property Caused By The Violation.

Sub-score Characteristics
2 Violation involves a land disturbance of 1/2 acre or less, and erosion and 

sediment controls were either not installed or improperly installed or 
maintained; 
Violation involves or impacts a dam with an assigned hazard classifica-
tion of “A” as determined in accordance with section 22a-409-2 of the 
Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies; 
Violation is within a FEMA designated flood fringe and the violation 
neither caused any loss of flood storage nor created a potential increase 
in flood heights; 
Violation resulted in the alteration of a wetland or watercourse, but 
caused either negligible or no apparent damage to such wetland or wa-
tercourse; or 
A water diversion violation that caused either negligible or no apparent 
impact on an inland water resource.

4 Violation involves a land disturbance that is greater than 1/2 acre but 
less than 10 acres, and erosion and sediment controls were either not in-
stalled or were improperly installed or maintained; 
Violation involves or impacts a dam with an assigned hazard classifica-
tion of “B” or “BB” as determined in accordance with section 22a-409-2 
of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies; 
Violation is located within a FEMA designated flood fringe and the vio-
lation either caused a loss of flood storage or caused a potential increase 
in flood heights; 
A water diversion violation that caused damage to an inland water re-
source, but such damage is not permanent, and the diversion has neither 
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contributed to nor resulted in human injury or property damage; 
A diversion of water for consumptive use that may contribute to the 
degradation of surface water quality for a waterbody not meeting water 
quality standards as identified by the department pursuant to section 
303(d) of the Federal Clean Water Act; or 
Violation resulted in the alteration of a wetland or watercourse, and the 
alteration caused damage to a wetland or watercourse but such damage 
is not permanent.

6 Violation involves a land disturbance that is greater than or equal to 10 
acres and erosion and sediment controls were either not installed or were 
improperly installed or maintained; 
Violation involves or impacts a dam with an assigned hazard classifica-
tion of “C” as determined in accordance with section 22a-409-2 of the 
Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies; 
Violation is located within a FEMA designated floodway; 
A water diversion violation that caused damage to an inland water re-
source, but the diversion cannot be ceased or the damage cannot be re-
mediated, or the diversion violation has contributed to or resulted in 
human injury or loss of life or property damage; 
Violation resulted in the alteration of a wetland or watercourse, and the 
alteration caused permanent damage to a wetland or watercourse; or 
Violation caused the destruction of or damage to endangered species 
habitat.

SUB-FAC-
TOR 2:

Quantity OrExtent Of Resource Potentially Impacted By The Viola-
tion.

Sub-score Characteristics
1 ➣Less than 5,000square feet of wetland, watercourse, floodplain, or 

landriverward of a State established stream channel encroachmentline; 
➣Less than 200linear feet of watercourse; or 
➣Violation had apotential to result in a consumptive withdrawal of sur-
faceor ground water that is less than 250,000 gallons per day.

2 ➣From 5,000 to50,000 square feet of wetland, watercourse, floodplain, 
orland riverward of a State established stream channelencroachment 
line; 
➣From 200 to 1,000linear feet of watercourse; or 
➣Violation had apotential to result in 250,000 to 2,000,000 gallons per 
dayof consumptive withdrawal of surface or ground water.

3 ➣Physically impact more than 50,000 square feet of wetland, water
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course,floodplain, or land riverward of a State established stream chan-
nel encroachment line; 
➣Physically impact more than 1,000 linear feet of watercourse; or 
➣Violation had a potential to result in more than 2,000,000 gallons per 
day of consumptive withdrawal of surface or ground water.

SUB-FAC-
TOR 3:

Quality Or Condition Of Natural Resource Potentially Impacted By 
The Violation.

Sub-score Characteristics
1 Class C Inland Surface Water that is not a swamp, marsh, bog, vernal 

pool or wetland containing alluvial or floodplain soils; or groundwater 
classified as GC. α

2 Class B Inland Surface Water that is not a swamp, marsh, bog, vernal 
pool or wetland containing alluvial or floodplain soils; or groundwater 
classified as GB. α

3 Oligotrophic Lake or Class A Inland Surface Water or Class AA Inland 
SurfaceWater, or any swamp, marsh, bog, vernal pool or wetland, or 
groundwater classified as GA, GA * , GAA, GAAsor GAA *;α 

Coldwater fishery, special management area as described in section26-
112-46 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies,or a stocked 
watercourse; 
All or a portion of the area potentially impacted is part of the Connecti-
cutnatural diversity database inventory; or 
The violation is located in or potentially impacts a public water supply 
watershed.

SUB-FAC-
TOR 4:

Potential Impact On The Department’s Ability, Through its Regula-
tory Programs, To Prevent Or Monitor Potential Harm ToHuman 
Health And Welfare Or The Environment.

Sub-score Characteristics
1 Failure to provide notification to the department upon completion of an 

activity, when such notification was required by a statute,regulation, 
order, permit or approval.

2 Failure to obtain an authorization for a regulated activity that could 
havebeen covered under a general permit; or 
Failure to submit on time a monitoring or progress report, notice of com-
mencement of an activity, non-compliance notice, or any other notice or 
report, except a notice of completion,required by a statute, regulation, 
order, permit or approval.

3 Failure to obtain a permit for a regulated activity that was not covered 
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αSurface water and groundwater classifications as prescribed by the Water Quality 

Standards. 
Each distinct violation shall then be evaluated in terms of its extent of deviation from the 

legal requirement using the criteria in Table 1B. 
  

 
The gravity-based penalty component for each distinct violation shall comprise: 
(1) A gravity-based penalty for the first day of violation, which is obtained from the 

appropriate subcell in the penalty matrix in Table 1C; and 
(2) A gravity-based penalty for each day the violation continued beyond the first day, 

which is equal to the number of days such violation continued beyond the first day 
multiplied by an amount not less than ten percent and not greater than twenty-five percent 
of the first day gravity-based penalty. 
  

by a general permit, or to submit on time plans or descriptions of work, 
or to perform any other action required by a statute, regulation, order, 
permit or approval.

Table 1B 
Extent of Deviation Criteria For Inland Water Resources, Stream Channel En-

croachment Lines, Water Diversion Or Dam Safety Violations
Extent of 
Deviation

Criteria

Minor Minimal noncompliance with the legal requirement in that the violator 
deviates somewhat from the requirement but that most of the require-
ment, or all important aspects of the requirement, were met after either 
minimal or no delay.

Significant Deviation from the legal requirement that does not meet the criteria for 
minor deviation.

Table 1C 
Penalty Matrix for Inland Water Resources, Stream Channel Encroachment 

Lines, Water Diversion Or Dam Safety Violations
POTENTIAL FOR 

HARM
EXTENT OF DEVIATION

Total Score Significant Minor
15 $ 1,000 $ 600
14 $ 930 $ 570
13 $ 860 $ 540
12 $ 790 $ 510
11 $ 720 $ 480
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(2) Tidal Wetlands, Structures, Dredging and Fill Violations.  
Each distinct violation of section 22a-32, 22a-359, 22a-361 or 22a-362 of the Connecticut 

General Statutes, or of a regulation administered or issued thereunder, or of a permit 
administered or issued either thereunder or under section 22a-363b or 22a-363d of the 
Connecticut General Statutes, or of an order administered or issued under section 22a-6, 
22a-7 or 22a-363f of the Connecticut General Statutes to enforce either section 22a-32, 22a-
359, 22a-361, 22a-362, 22a-363b, 22a-363d or 22a-363f of the Connecticut General Statutes 
or a regulation or permit administered or issued thereunder, shall first be evaluated in terms 
of its potential for harm to human health and welfare and the environment using each of 
the three sub-factors listed in Table 2A. The applicable category of harm for each sub-factor 
is the highest category that corresponds to the characteristics of the distinct violation. The 
potential for harm of such violation shall be the highest category of harm identified in the 
sub-factor analysis. 
  

10 $ 480 $ 180
9 $ 424 $ 160
8 $ 368 $ 140
7 $ 312 $ 120
6 $ 256 $ 100
5 $ 110 $ 50
4 $ 100 $ 45
3 $ 90 $ 40
2 $ 80 $ 35
1 $ 70 $ 35

Table 2A 
Potential for Harm Sub-factors for Tidal Wetlands, Structures, Dredging or Fill 

Violations
Potential for 
Harm Sub-
Factors

Violation Characteristics Category 
of Harm

1. Potential Im-
pact to a 
Coastal Re-
source

Dredging, excavating or filling, or performing work in-
cidental thereto, of a tidal wetland, intertidal flat, sub-
merged aquatic vegetation or other statutorily protected 
coastal resource; or placing a structure or performing 
work incidental thereto either on, in, or affecting any 
tidal wetland, intertidal flat, submerged aquatic vegeta-
tion or other coastal resource.

Major
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A violation that has a significant potential to cause 
damage to any coastal resource, or has caused damage 
that can be fully remediated within one year.

Moderate

Storage or placement of boats, floats or other material 
in a tidal wetland, or deposition or disposal of brush or 
other readily retrievable material.

Minor

2. Encroach-
ments

Constructing a new bulkhead or seawall, or performing 
work incidental thereto; or excavating or filling, or per-
forming work incidental thereto, with heavy equipment 
waterward of the high tide line; or constructing docks 
or other marine facilities, or performing work inciden-
tal thereto, for five or more boats, or greater than forty 
feet in length.

Major

Constructing or placing docks or other marine facili-
ties, or performing work incidental thereto, for two to 
four boats, or less than or equal to forty feet in length; 
non-water-dependent encroachments such as decks, 
gazebos and floating homes with no potential for dis-
charges; or capping or additional riprap, concrete or 
rocks placed on existing erosion control structures or 
armored shorelines.

Moderate

Constructing or placing a residential dock, or perform-
ing work incidental thereto, not greater than thirty feet 
in length for only one boat; or a deck, balcony or other 
attachment which extends waterward of the high tide 
line.

Minor

3. Navigational 
or Riparian In-
terference.

Constructing or placing a structure, or performing work 
incidental thereto, which encroaches into a navigational 
channel or creates a clear and obvious obstruction to ri-
parian access, public access, navigation, fishing or 
other traditional public trust use.

Major

Constructing or placing a structure, or performing work 
incidental thereto, that results in less than a complete 
blockage or obstruction to riparian access, public ac-
cess, navigation, fishing or other traditional public trust 
use, and creates a potential navigational or riparian in-
terference.

Moderate

Structures that appear to cross riparian boundaries or 
may affect navigation under certain conditions.

Minor
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If the distinct violation does not have any of the characteristics listed in Table 2A, the 
potential for harm of such violation shall each be categorized as either major, moderate or 
minor using Table 2B. 
  

 
Each distinct violation shall then be evaluated in terms of its extent of deviation from the 

legal requirement using the criteria in Table 2C. 
  

Table 2B 
Alternate Potential for Harm Characteristics for Tidal Wetlands, Structures, 

Dredging or Fill Violations
Category of 

Harm
Violation Characteristics

Major Unauthorized activity which, without rapid and active restoration or 
remediation of the site or other impacted area, could create perma-
nent resource damage, significant encroachment or acute and ongoing 
navigational or riparian interference, or which substantially inhibit or 
limit the Department’s ability, through its regulatory programs, to en-
sure against actual or potential harm to the environment or to public 
health or welfare.

Moderate Unauthorized activity that could cause a substantial adverse impact to 
a coastal resource, the public trust, navigational or riparian considera-
tions, or regulatory programs, but can be more readily corrected than 
major impact activities; or where formal enforcement action is war-
ranted to ensure consistency and compliance with Department regula-
tory programs.

Minor Unauthorized activity that could cause only a minimal adverse impact 
and does not require substantial restoration of the site, or a violation 
having no on-site manifestation, such as a failure to file a report, plan 
or other form required by a permit.

Table 2C 
Extent of Deviation Criteria for Tidal Wetlands, Structures, Dredging or Fill Vio-

lations
Category Extent of Deviation Criteria

Major A violation that is substantially inconsistent with legal requirements; 
examples include: 
Significant violation of a permit or order. 
Activity that is inconsistent with applicable statutory standards and 
would not have been authorized by the department. 
Unauthorized activity that does not modify or reconstruct any previ-
ously existing or authorized structure or work. 
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The gravity-based penalty component for each distinct violation shall comprise the 

following: 
(1) A gravity-based penalty for the first day of violation, which is determined by first 

locating the penalty range from the appropriate subcell in the penalty matrix in Table 2D. 
The commissioner shall, upon consideration of all of the potential harm sub-factors 
evaluated for such violation, set the gravity-based penalty for the first day of violation to 
an amount within such penalty range; 

(2) A gravity-based penalty for each day the violation continued beyond the first day, up 
to a maximum of one-hundred-eighty days thereafter, which is equal to either: Twenty-five 
percent of the first day gravity-based penalty for each day such violation continued provided 
the violation commenced on or before one year prior to the date of issuance of the penalty 
notice; or, if the violation commenced within one year prior to the date of issuance of the 
penalty notice, one-hundred percent of the first day gravity-based penalty for each day such 
violation continued, up to a maximum of thirty days, and twenty-five percent of such first 
day penalty for each additional day thereafter. If the violation commenced prior to the 
effective date of these regulations, the first day of violation shall be the first day such 
violation continued after such effective date; and 

(3) At the sole discretion of the commissioner, a gravity-based penalty for each day the 
violation continued for more than one-hundred-eighty-one days, provided such violation 
has caused major or moderate damage to a coastal resource. The amount of such gravity-
based penalty shall not exceed the number of days the violation continued beyond 
one-hundred-eighty-one days multiplied by twenty-five percent of the first day gravity-
based penalty. 
  

Unauthorized activity that is significantly different in scope and scale 
from surrounding existing or historical activities.

Moderate Violation that is generally consistent or can be made consistent with 
legal requirements through a permit authorization process or through 
modification of the violating activity; examples include: 
Unauthorized activity that might be statutorily consistent and permit-
table if reconfigured or modified. 
Unauthorized minor modifications to existing commercial facilities. 
Significant reconstruction or modification of pre-existing structures 
which does not significantly change the footprint of the structure. 
Activity that is not significantly different in scope and scale than sur-
rounding or prior activities.

Minor Unauthorized activity that was consistent with applicable statutory 
standards and would likely have been authorized had a timely and 
complete application been filed.

Table 2D 
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(3) Pesticide Control Violations.  
For each distinct violation of chapter 441 of the Connecticut General Statutes, or of any 

regulation, order or permit administered or issued thereunder, the gravity-based penalty 
component shall be determined using Table 3A. 
  

Penalty Matrix for Tidal Wetlands, Structures, Dredging or Fill Violations
POTENTIAL FOR 

HARM
EXTENT OF DEVIATION

Major Moderate Minor
Major $720 to $1,000 $570 to $770 $480 to $600

Moderate $256 to $480 $160 to $288 $100 to $180
Minor $70 to $110 $50 to $70 $35 to $50

Table 3A 
Penalty Schedule for Pesticide Control Violations

Type of Violation Penalty for 
Minor Extent of 
Deviation†

Penalty for Signifi-
cant Extent of Devia-
tion‡

Commercial application of pesticides 
without supervisory certification in viola-
tion of 22a-54(c)(1) of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.

Not a minor devi-
ation.

$1000 plus $100 for 
each subsequent appli-
cation.

Sale of a restricted use or permit use pes-
ticide by a dealer who has not registered 
in violation of 22a-56(c) of the Connecti-
cut General Statutes.

Not a minor devi-
ation.

$1000 plus $100 for 
each additional sale

Sale, use or distribution of a pesticide that 
has not been registered in violation of 
22a-61(a)(1) of the Connecticut General 
Statutes.

Not a minor devi-
ation.

$800 plus $100 for 
each additional sale

Sale of a restricted use or permit use pes-
ticide to a person who is not registered, 
certified or who has not obtained a permit 
in violation of 22a-57 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.

Not a minor devi-
ation.

$1000 plus $100 for 
each additional sale

Failure of a registered dealer to: 
Maintain records of the sale of restricted 
use or permit use pesticides or to allow in-
spection of such records by the commis

$300 $1000
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sioner in violation of section 22a-58 of the 
Connecticut General Statutes; or submit 
records to the commissioner in violation 
of section 22a-66-4 of the Regulations of 
Connecticut State Agencies; or display re-
stricted use or permit use pesticides in a 
separate secure area in violation of section 
22a-66-4(f) of the Regulations of Con-
necticut State Agencies.
Failure of a certified private applicator to 
maintain or submit records of the use of 
restricted use pesticides in violation of 
section 22a-58 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes.

$100 $500

Failure of a certified commercial supervi-
sor to maintain records of the use of pesti-
cides in violation of 22a-58 of the 
Connecticut General Statutes.

$250 plus $50 for 
each additional vi-
olation

$750 plus $50 for each 
additional violation

Refusal to allow an inspection of a place 
where pesticides may have been used or 
stored, in violation of section 22a-59 or 
22a-61(b)(2) of the Connecticut General 
Statutes, or refusal to allow inspection of 
records in violation of section 22a-58 or 
22a-61(b)(2) of the Connecticut General 
Statutes.

$300 $1000

Use or sale of a pesticide that has been 
adulterated or misbranded as defined in 
section 22a-47 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes in violation of section 22a-
61(a)(5)

Not a minor devi-
ation.

$1000

Detaching, altering, defacing, or destroy-
ing any pesticide label in violation of sec-
tion 22a-61(b)(1) of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.

$250 $750

Using a registered pesticide in a manner 
inconsistent with its labeling in violation 
of section 22a-61(b)(7) of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.

$750 $2500

- 14 -

Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies 
TITLE 22a. Environmental Protection



Revised: 2025-6-18

Department of Energy and Environmental Protection

R.C.S.A. §§ 22a-6b-100—22a-6b-15

§22a-6b-8

Advertising or soliciting to perform work 
that requires a commercial supervisory 
certification by a person who is uncerti-
fied or holds an operator’s certification, or 
performance of such work by a person 
who holds operator certification in viola-
tion of section 22a-61(d) and 22a-61(e) of 
the Connecticut General Statutes.

$500 plus $100 
for each additional 
advertisement, so-
licitation or per-
formance

$1000 plus $100 for 
each additional adver-
tisement, solicitation or 
performance

Failure to post required notice of a pesti-
cide application, or failure to post signs 
and provide signs at a retail establishment, 
or failure to provide other notification in 
violation of 22a-66a of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.

$75 $90

Failure to register or renew a registration 
of a pesticide application business in vio-
lation of section 22a-66c(a) of the Con-
necticut General Statutes.

Not a minor devi-
ation.

$1000

Failure of a registered pesticide business 
to notify the commissioner of changes to 
the registration within 30 day of the 
change in violation of section 22a-66c(b) 
of the Connecticut General Statutes.

$200 $500

Failure to maintain or retain for the re-
quired period a pesticide application busi-
ness record, or failure to include all 
required items in a pesticide application 
business record in violation of 22a-66g of 
the Connecticut General Statutes.

$300 plus $100 
for each additional 
violation

$1000 plus $100 for 
each additional viola-
tion

Introducing a chemical into the waters of 
the state to control aquatic organisms 
without a permit in violation of section 
22a-66z of the Connecticut General 
Statutes.

$500 $1500

Failure to comply with a requirement of a 
permit to apply chemicals to the waters of 
the state issued under 22a-66z of the Con-
necticut General Statutes.

$500 $1000

Failure of a certified supervisor to provide $250 plus $100 $750 plus $100 for 
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† Minor deviation means minimal noncompliance with a legal requirement in that the 

respondent deviated somewhat from the requirement, but all or most of the important aspects 
of the requirement were met, or were met after minimal delay. 

‡ Significant deviation means noncompliance with a legal requirement that is not a minor 
deviation. 

(4) Reserved. 
(5) Reserved. 

written instructions to a certified operator 
in violation of section 22a-66-5(g)(2) of 
the Regulations of Connecticut State 
Agencies.

for each additional 
application

each additional appli-
cation

Failure to obtain operator certification for 
use of pesticides in other than a supervi-
sory capacity in violation of section 22a-
66-5(h) of the Regulations of Connecticut 
State Agencies.

$500 $1000

Failure of a pesticide application business 
to employ a certified supervisory applica-
tor in violation of section 22a-66f of the 
Connecticut General Statutes.

$500 $1000

Application of pesticides or fertilizers by 
aircraft without a landowner’s permit; or 
application of pesticides or fertilizers by 
aircraft without an aircraft applicator’s 
certificate in violation of section 22a-
54(e)(1) of the Connecticut General 
Statutes.

$500 $1500

Failure to comply with a requirement of 
section 22a-66-7 of the Regulations of 
Connecticut State Agencies in violation of 
a permit or license to apply pesticides or 
fertilizer by aircraft.

$500 $1000

Failure to have check valves or other anti-
siphon devices on filler hoses used to 
draw water for mixing pesticides or fail-
ure to cover filler hoses while spraying 
pesticides in violation of section 22a-66-3 
of the Regulations of Connecticut State 
Agencies

$300 $1000
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(6) Underground Storage Tank Violations.  
For each distinct violation of chapter 446k of the Connecticut General Statutes, or of any 

provision of sections 22a-449(d)-101 to 22a-449(d)-114, inclusive, of the Regulations of 
Connecticut State Agencies, or of an order or permit adopted, administered or issued 
thereunder by the Commissioner of Energy and Environmental Protection, the gravity-based 
penalty component shall be determined using Table 6A. 
  

Table 6A 
Penalty Schedule for Underground Storage Tank (UST) Violations 

Type of Violation Penalty
Failure to submit a completed underground storage facility 
annual notification in violation of section 22a-449(e) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes or notify the commissioner 
within 30 days of any change to any information in a prior 
notification submitted about a regulated UST system or of 
the installation of an UST system in violation of 22a-
449(d)-114 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agen-
cies.

$250 per violation

Failure to submit an underground storage facility notifica-
tion fee in violation of section 22a-449(e) of the Connecti-
cut General Statutes or to submit an UST system 
installation fee in violation of section 22a-449(h) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes.

$250 per violation

Submission of a false statement in a Connecticut General 
Statutes section 22a-449(e) underground storage facility 
notification or other notification required under section 
22a-449(d)-114 of the Regulations of Connecticut State 
Agencies in violation of section 22a-6(a)(8) of the Con-
necticut General Statutes. 

$1,000 per violation

Failure to maintain a disabling device on dispensers and fill 
pipes in violation of section 22a-449(g) of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.  

$1,000 per violation 

    Failure to post Operator Response Guidelines at the site 
where the UST system is located in violation of section 
22a-449(d)-103 of the Regulations of Connecticut State 
Agencies or to post proper Class C operator training 
records at the site where the UST system is located in viola-
tion of section 22a-449(d)-108 of the Regulations of Con-
necticut State Agencies. 

 $100 per underground 
storage facility
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Table 6A 
Penalty Schedule for Underground Storage Tank (UST) Violations 

Failure to report a suspected release from a regulated UST 
or UST system within 24 hours in violation of section 22a-
449(d)-105 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agen-
cies or a confirmed release from a regulated UST or UST 
system within one hour in violation of section 22a-449(d)-
106 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies.

$500 per UST or UST 
system

Failure to designate and maintain Class A, B, and C opera-
tor in violation of section 22a-449(d)-108 of the Regula-
tions of Connecticut State Agencies.

$250 per violation

Failure to maintain proper Financial Responsibility records 
at the site where the UST system is located in violation of 
section 22a-449(d)-109 of the Regulations of Connecticut 
State Agencies.

$250 per record

Failure to maintain proper Financial Responsibility cover-
age in violation of section 22a-449(d)-109 of the Regula-
tions of Connecticut State Agencies.

1,000 per violation

Failure to remove regulated substances from an UST sys-
tem that is temporarily taken out of service in violation of 
22a-449(d)-110 of the Regulations of Connecticut State 
Agencies.  

$500 per violation

The use or operation of an UST system beyond its life ex-
pectancy or the failure to permanently close any such UST 
system prior to the last day of its life expectancy in accor-
dance with the closure requirements specified in section 
22a-449(d)-107 of the Regulations of Connecticut State 
Agencies, in violation of 22a-449(d)-111 of the Regulations 
of Connecticut State Agencies.  

$500 per UST system  for 
the first 12 months be-
yond life expectancy, then 
$1,000 per UST system 
for each additional year 
beyond life expectancy

Failure to maintain the following records at the site where 
the UST system is located in violation of section 22a-
449(d)-114 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agen-
cies: spill prevention equipment test records; proper UST 
closure documentation; records of repairs; completed 
monthly visual inspection records; or proper release detec-
tion compliance records.

$250 per required record

Failure to submit a properly completed Certificate of Instal $250 per required record
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(d) Gravity-Based Penalty Adjustments.  
For each distinct violation, gravity-based penalty adjustments shall be determined as 

follows: 
(1) Good Faith Efforts to Comply. 
A gravity-based penalty component may be adjusted downward by as much as 25% 

depending upon whether or not, in the sole judgment of the commissioner, the respondent 
had taken all steps or followed all procedures necessary or appropriate to comply or to 
correct the violation prior to the department’s discovery of such violation. However, the 
commissioner need not adjust such gravity-based penalty in accordance with this provision 
if the respondent failed to take reasonable and prompt measures to fully comply upon 
respondent’s discovery of such violation. 

(2) History of Noncompliance. 
A gravity-based penalty component may be adjusted upward by as much as 25% if the 

respondent has a history of a prior violation. In determining the amount of upward penalty 
adjustment, the commissioner shall consider all known violations, any prior violations by 
the respondent of statutes, regulations, orders, permits or licenses administered, adopted or 
issued by the commissioner, and any judgments or orders entered by the federal government 
or any state or municipality against the respondent. 

(3) Ability to Pay.  
The gravity-based penalty component, plus any gravity-based penalty adjustments under 

subdivisions (1) and (2) of this section, may be adjusted based on the economic and financial 
conditions of the violator. The commissioner may deem a respondent to be unable to pay a 
gravity-based penalty if payment of such penalty would interfere with the respondent’s 
financial ability to come into compliance or force the respondent out of business. It shall 
be the respondent’s sole burden to assert any claim of inability to pay and to submit all 
documents that the commissioner reasonably believes are necessary to evaluate such claim. 
Any penalty adjustment for a demonstrated inability to pay may be limited if the: 

(1) Violation is chronic or repeat, or causes or has the potential to cause serious harm to 
the environment; 

(2) Respondent refuses to correct a violation; or 
(3) Respondent is a business entity that is no longer doing business. 
Further, any of the following does not necessarily constitute an inability to pay: Potential 

reduction of manager or officer salaries or employee bonuses; potential reduction of 
shareholder dividends; limited cash flow, but respondent is able to raise money through 

Table 6A 
Penalty Schedule for Underground Storage Tank (UST) Violations 

lation in violation of section 22a-449(d)-114 of the Regula-
tions of Connecticut State Agencies.
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borrowing, selling assets, or other steps without incurring extraordinary burdens. 
(Adopted effective May 29, 2007; Amended May 7, 2025) 

Sec. 22a-6b-9. Assessment of administrative civil penalty—penalty recalculation 
(a) After the issuance of a penalty notice, the commissioner may recalculate the penalty 

assessed in such notice based on the commissioner’s consideration of new or additional 
information pertaining to the veracity of the alleged violation or the accuracy of the assessed 
penalty, or based on the commissioner’s consideration of the economic and financial 
condition of the respondent following the respondent’s written claim of inability to pay. 

(b) If the commissioner recalculates the penalty and the recalculated penalty can not be 
resolved by agreement, the commissioner may issue an amended penalty notice that assesses 
the recalculated penalty and states the respondent’s right to request a hearing on such 
amended notice within 30 days after respondent’s receipt of such notice. The penalty 
assessed in any amended penalty notice shall not be less than the economic benefit of 
noncompliance. 
(Adopted effective May 29, 2007) 

Sec. 22a-6b-10. Settlement conferences 
(a) Within 30 days after receipt of a respondent’s request for hearing on a penalty notice, 

the commissioner may schedule a settlement conference; such settlement conference shall 
be conducted by a referee. The purpose of such settlement conference shall be to attempt to 
resolve such penalty notice without the need for a hearing. 

(b) If the respondent to a penalty notice fails without good cause to appear at a scheduled 
settlement conference, the assigned hearing officer shall schedule a hearing on such penalty 
notice. 

(c) Promptly upon completion of a settlement conference at which the respondent 
appears, but in any event no later than seven days thereafter, the assigned hearing officer 
shall, with respect to any penalty notice covered or scheduled to be covered at such 
conference, either issue a notice of hearing date on the penalty notice, or if the referee 
recommends to the assigned hearing officer that resolution of the dispute without a hearing 
is likely, the hearing officer may issue a notice of the date by which a consent order signed 
by the respondent to resolve such notice shall be submitted to the hearing officer by the 
parties. If the parties fail to submit such consent order by the established date, the hearing 
officer shall promptly issue a notice of hearing date on the penalty notice. 
(Adopted effective May 29, 2007) 

Sec. 22a-6b-11. Assessment of administrative civil penalty—resolution of penalty 
notice prior to completion of settlement conference 

To encourage early resolution of a penalty notice, if the respondent demonstrates to the 
commissioner’s satisfaction that the respondent has, prior to completion of the settlement 
conference, either corrected a violation alleged in such penalty notice, or agreed to and is 

- 20 -

Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies 
TITLE 22a. Environmental Protection



Revised: 2025-6-18

Department of Energy and Environmental Protection

R.C.S.A. §§ 22a-6b-100—22a-6b-15

§22a-6b-14

in compliance with a final order from the commissioner to correct such violation, the 
assessed penalty for such violation shall be reduced by 20%, provided that the respondent 
has, prior to completion of the settlement conference, waived its right to a hearing on all 
parts of the penalty notice pertaining to such violation and remitted payment of the 
associated administrative civil penalty for such violation. The total penalty reduction granted 
under this section for a single penalty notice shall not exceed $20,000. 
(Adopted effective May 29, 2007) 

Sec. 22a-6b-12. Assessment of administrative civil penalty—resolution of penalty 
notice after settlement conference but prior to hearing 

To encourage resolution of a penalty notice prior to hearing, if the respondent 
demonstrates to the commissioner’s satisfaction that the respondent has, prior to hearing, 
either corrected a violation alleged in a penalty notice, or agreed to and is in compliance 
with a final order from the commissioner to correct such violation, the assessed penalty for 
such violation shall be reduced by 10%, provided that respondent has, after settlement 
conference and prior to hearing, waived its right to a hearing on all parts of the penalty 
notice pertaining to such violation and remitted payment of the associated administrative 
civil penalty for such violation after the settlement conference but prior to a hearing on said 
penalty notice. The total penalty reduction granted under sections 22a-6b-11 and 22a-6b-
12 combined shall not exceed $20,000 for a single penalty notice. 
(Adopted effective May 29, 2007) 

Sec. 22a-6b-13. Assessment of administrative civil penalty—resolution of penalty 
notice by consent order 

In negotiating a final resolution of a penalty notice, the commissioner may mitigate a 
penalty upon his consideration of any of the following: 

(1) The risks and costs associated with further litigation and whether such litigation would 
best serve the public interest. 

(2) Any other factors the commissioner deems appropriate, including voluntary measures 
the Respondent agrees to undertake to prevent pollution or enhance or preserve natural 
resources. 
(Adopted effective May 29, 2007) 

Sec. 22a-6b-14. Final decision on a penalty notice 
The commissioner shall render a final decision on a penalty notice as follows: 
(1) If the respondent is not found to have committed a violation alleged in a penalty 

notice, there shall be no penalty assessed for such alleged violation. 
(2) If the respondent is found to have committed a violation alleged in a penalty notice, 

the penalty assessed for such violation shall be the penalty stated in such notice, except that 
the commissioner shall adjust an administrative civil penalty in accordance with both the 
evidence and the provisions of the department’s Administrative Civil Penalty Regulations, 
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provided that the adjusted penalty is not greater than the penalty stated in such notice. 
(Adopted effective May 29, 2007) 

Sec. 22a-6b-15. Payment of penalties 
Any penalty paid under the department’s Administrative Civil Penalty Regulations shall 

be remitted by bank check or certified check payable to “Treasurer, State of Connecticut.” 
The check shall indicate on its face “Administrative Civil Penalty” and the action or docket 
number of the penalty notice under which it is paid. The check shall be mailed or personally 
delivered to the Department of Environmental Protection, Bureau of Administration, 79 
Elm Street, Hartford, CT 06106. 
(Adopted effective May 29, 2007)
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